top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmelia Kaelin

Dark Sugars Cocoa House


This past year has been a year that has changed many things: good and bad. COVID-19 has been such an odd experience for us all and the world has been put on hold. I'd describe it as a record player...play, stop, play, stop.


With being at home more than usual it has left many of us bored, including myself! Perhaps even causing me to spend hours on the Tik Tok app... relatable?


Although this has become a habit, it has introduced me to many different places to explore whether that be yummy and quirky food & drink places or beautiful spots to visit around London City.

One place I kept seeing over social media was a chocolate shop called 'Dark Sugars Cocoa House' which can be found at Brick Lane and in Greenwich. I visited the branch in Greenwich and as soon as I walked in I noticed the beautiful interior and wooden decor as well as the pure and rich smell of chocolate. Dark Sugars Cocoa produces quality chocolate by embracing the 'culture of West African cocoa production' and offer a range of chocolate, truffles, hot chocolate and ice-cream.


The reason I was there of course was to specifically try their stunning hot chocolate that was going viral on Tik Tok. They offer a variety of flavours in which I decided to try the hazelnut and the salted caramel. What I love about their hot chocolate was that they shave dark and white chocolate off a big block and gather the shavings to place them on top. The excitement built up in me as I watched this process and I was keen to taste it. I must say though, my first thought was how the hell am I going to drink it without all of the shavings falling out of the cup?... All is well as a minute passes by and you get to see the shavings gradually melt into the hot chocolate.


After trying this hot chocolate I can confidently say that it is the best hot chocolate I've tasted. The hazelnut tasted more on the side of bitter whereas the salted caramel of course was on the sweeter side. I'd say it was well worth the money and will definitely be visiting again to try their other flavours as well as their chocolates and ice-cream! Great selection and great quality chocolate... I highly recommend!


Rating: 4.5 / 5

 
 

Location: 21 Nelson Rd, Greenwich Peninsula, London SE10 9JB

and

124-126 Brick Ln, Spitalfields, London E1 6RU

or

141 Brick Ln, Bethnal Green, London E1 6SB

 

https://www.darksugars.co.uk/



38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page